Tuesday Is Theme Tunes Day – The New Avengers


This week’s theme tune is a British 1970s classic.

I’m too young to remember John Steed ‘s original 60s outings in The Avengers. But I do remember being transfixed as a nipper by The New Avengers, the somewhat less successful attempt to update the secret agent franchise for darker decade that was altogether less playful, free-spirited and, well, fun.

It still looked great to me, though. The show ran for just two seasons in 1976 and 1977, 26 episodes in total. The strange, unrequited ménage à trois of John Steed (Patrick McNee), Purdey (Joanna Lumley) and Mike Gambit (the late Gareth Hunt) should never have worked as a team and yet, somehow, they played perfectly off one another. At the time, the flirting passed over my young and innocent head but clearly Purdey had a thing for Steed, while Gambit had the hots for Purdey (who could blame him?) and she took great delight in knocking him back

But like I said, the primary-school aged Choob was oblivious to all that at the time – it was the thrilling, action-packed, often borderline sci-fi plots that had me hooked.

And the theme tune, accompanied by the classic red-white-and-blue animated lion rampant opening titles, remains one of my all-time favourites. Enjoy!

5 Comments

Filed under Classic TV, Tuesday Is Theme Tunes Day

5 responses to “Tuesday Is Theme Tunes Day – The New Avengers

  1. Thank you so much for bringing back happy childhood memories. You might enjoy this in a similar vein:

    http://caughtinthemiddleman.wordpress.com/2008/10/17/happy-days/

    Joanna Lumley as Purdey …….sigh!

  2. Hi Middle Man. Glad you enjoyed the blast from the past. Keep checking back for more!

    Loved your nostalgia piece about kids’ TV. Kids today may have a bazillion cable channels all to themselves – but the shows are not a patch on the handful of programmes we used to get on Saturday mornings and during the school holidays!

    Thanks for the comment and all the best!

  3. Pingback: Tuesday Is Theme Tunes Day – The Professionals « The Cathode Ray Choob

  4. Growing up with reruns of the colour Emma Peel stories, late in the night on the Nine Network in Australia, The New Avengers are a relatively recent experience for me. It’s an interesting show in its own right, and the theme music is amazingly catchy.

    I did buy the box set at the end of last year, but then along came the new whizzbang Series 1 and 2 of the original Avengers. I’ve been rather indulging in Cathy Gale as a result, but will watch and review TNA at some point in the future. For the moment, I’m just reviewing the monochrome episodes on my blog. If you do want to know more about the show’s early days, feel free to have a read!

    http://critiqaltheory.wordpress.com/

  5. I remember watching The New Avengers reruns in the late 70s when I was a kid growing up in the UK.
    Years later, I saw quite a few episodes of the 60s original (the Emma Peel, Tara King years, if I recall) and enjoyed the over-the-top strangeness – but for me, it’s the New Avengers that will always be the defining version, just because that’s what I saw first.

    I have had the series on DVD for a while but must confess I have yet to get round to actually watching them. One of these days!

    I’m very impressed by the content of your fledgling blog. Some excellent analysis there. I’ll be checking in regularly.

Leave a Reply

