Is There Life On Mars For Veronica?


Looks like Jericho might have started a trend.

Days after the announcement that a big-screen version of cancelled TV show Jericho is in development, it has been announced that a Veronica Mars movie is also in the works.

The TV show ran for three seasons between 2007 and 07.

Described as a cross between Buffy and Bogart, it starred Kristen Bell – most recently seen as troubled Elle in Heroes – as the titular Veronica Mars, a high school (later college) student who moonlights as a private detective.

The ratings were poor throughout the show’s short life but those who did watch it were exceptionally loyal and it also won widespread critical acclaim.

Now Digital Spy reports that the show’s creator Rob Thomas is working on a movie sequel.

And he hinted that action-movie producer Joel Silver, who was an executive producer on the TV show, was interested in financing it.

Thomas said: “My writing the movie is half the battle. Someone else has to pay for it.

Joel Silver does have a certain pile of money.

“He called on me saying ‘Can we do this now?’

“Kristen wants to do it. Joel wants to do it and I want to do it. For me, that’s the next project.”

As for the plot, Thomas said it was “70 per cent broken in my head”.

He added: “I’m feeling like I’m on the right track now – but I don’t want to give that away yet.

“I know we did that F.B.I. ‘what if’ thing, but we would not go to that place.

I think it would open just days before the Hearst College Graduation.

So Veronica would be sort of at the end of her college career.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Current and recent TV shows, TV News

Leave a Reply

