Video Killed The Radio Star: Muse – Knights Of Cydonia


A real treat for you this week – the greatest music video ever made.

Yes, that’s a bold claim, I’ll grant you, but, I think you’ll find, completely justified.

I’ve already featured a great live version of Muse‘s Knights Of Cydonia in Top Of The Pops Thursday.

I love the song – as I’ve said before, I like to think of it as a cross between Ennio Morricone and Iron Maiden.

And the video for Knights Of Cydonia is a TV and movie geek’s dream. It’s presented in the form of a trailer for a sci-fi spaghetti western (I wish someone would make the full-length film) and comes with dozens of referencesΒ and homages to genre TV shows and films, including Battlestar Galactica, Buck Rogers In The 25th Century (the heroine dresses like Wilma Deering!), Star Wars, Planet of the Apes, Blade Runner and many more.

If you’ve seen it, you’ll know how good it is – if you haven’t, I won’t spoil it for you. Enjoy!

Vodpod videos no longer available.
29 Comments

Filed under Current and recent TV shows, Video Killed The Radio Star

29 responses to “Video Killed The Radio Star: Muse – Knights Of Cydonia

  1. tommygroshong

    Muse is awesome and I’m so happy you put this video up. WAY TO GO!!!

  2. Pink Floyd , Deep Purple, Vogan

  3. Stunning video isn’t it?!?

    Funnily it always reminded me of Stephen King’s The Dark Tower novels rather than other films but completely get the references you make here.

  4. Had the chance to see a show but got sick. Grrrrr. Ill catch them next time. – jon (www.jonarditomusic.com)

  5. good info.. i like it.. rock is the best.

  6. wicked epic, i love Kinghts of Cydonia! πŸ˜€ awesome videoD:

  7. I wish more people listened to things like Muse instead of all this you’re a firework or new “hiphop” crap… :/

  8. I like the name of your blog, and your taste in music.

  9. kings of cydonia great

  10. 6

    That was awesome!

  11. Classic vid, and such a great song!

  12. Muse really know how to put on a show their live act is amazing

  13. Pingback: Hm.. so what do others blog about? « engyesenia

  14. madeeha

    Love this! Saw them live in Copenhagen two years ago. Amazing! πŸ™‚

  15. ricky-me.mo.li

    Muse is good, but they sound way too much like Radiohead, d’you know what I mean? Still, I like Uprising’s video better (:

  16. I know this is a great video! And the live version is as good as the studio one. Muse is a really good band

  17. Muse is amazing! there’s no doubt about that, but somehow i like MCR’s “The Black Parade”, video more amazing, maybe cause of the whole concept behind it, but then again, they’re also 2 different musical styles, so no comparison! . πŸ™‚

  18. I like older Muse a lot better. It was more experimental, they took risks, and it felt less forceful then their newer stuff. I’m not a fan of the band, but this song is a real good one.

  19. Hey,

    I love your blog so keep it up. I just started up a new blog to feature up and coming artists and songs. If you have a moment check it out and if you have any suggestions throw them my way.

    http://audastic.wordpress.com/

  20. I recall this clip every time when talking about post-irony. It’s the essence of the term.

  21. Kaela

    Mmmm I love me some Muse. And Knights of Cydonia is one of their top songs. It’s like an Epic, song style. πŸ™‚

  22. blitzpillager

    Awesomeness!

  23. Pingback: Trance. Rock. Country. Jazz. Classical. Latin « jokotjandra

Leave a Reply

