Video Killed The Radio Star: Belinda Carlisle – Heaven Is A Place On Earth


I’ve mentioned before my, ahem, appreciation of and fondness for Go-Gos singer and solo chart-topper Belinda Carlisle.

When I was at university, I even went to see her perform live in Glasgow during her Runaway Horses tour when I really should have been studying for one of my final exams, which I had to sit the following day.

Anyway, this is the song that first alerted the teenage Choob to Ms Carlisle’s ample charms and wonderful singing voice (I’d been just a little too young to get into The Go-Gos).

It’s also her most successful and best-known track, which topped the charts in both the US and the UK, amongst several other countries.

From 1987, it is, of course, Heaven Is A Place On Earth, from the album Heaven On Earth.

The somewhat bizarre video (even now, 22 years later I have no clue what those masked kids with the beach-ball Earths are all about) was directed by Oscar-winning actress-turned-film director Diane Keaton.

The song and video are pure ’80s – yet, for me, the song is a still an outstanding piece of power pop that holds up remarkably well even now.

Enjoy!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Leave a comment

Filed under Video Killed The Radio Star

Leave a Reply

