Tuesday Is Theme Tunes Day: Smallville


I’m not much of a Superman fan. Even though (like Art Brut) I’ve always been more of a DC Comics fan than a Marvel fan (I used to be a major reader/collector of comics but for the past decade, I’ve somewhat lapsed), I always preferred The Dark Knight to the Man Of Steel.

Similarly, I can take or leave the Superman movies (with the notable exception of brilliant Superman II) and I have always largely avoided the TV incarnations.

Not counting the various animated shows, in my lifetime there have been three TV series based on the character: Superboy (1988-1992), Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman (1993-1997) and now Smallville, which began in 2001 and is currently airing its ninth season.

Superboy pretty much passed me by completely and, despite the popularity of Lois & Clark at the time, I was never that impressed.

When Smallville started, it seemed a bit too much of a soap opera – and besides, who needed yet another Superman show? So I watched the pilot and then gave up.

However, over the years, I’ve heard many reports about how the show has developed and improved as it has gone on.

And, more interestingly for the eternal fanboy in me, I have also noted with interest the increasing trend towards incorporating into the show elements not only of the established Superman comics mythology but also elements of the wider DC Universe (albeit often heavily modified from the source material).

So, when the Sci-Fi channel in the UK started showing Smallville from the start back in November, I decided to give the show a go. It’s airing five nights a week and we’re up to the start of season three – and I have to say that overall, I’m enjoying it.

Yeah, it’s a bit schmaltzy at times and the over-reliance thus far on Kryptonite-influenced storylines can get a bit tiresome but I’m still watching. I’m sure that seeing it nightly without long breaks between seasons, instead of weekly, stretched out over years, makes it easier to forgive the weaknesses but still, there’s some good stuff in there.

Allison Mack as Chloe is a close second in the Choob’s list of best things about Smallville but for my money, top spot has to go to the relationship between Clark Kent (Tom Welling) and Lex Luthor (Michael Rosenbaum).

The show’s “twist” of having the pair start out as friends makes for some fantastically painful pathos. The series is, in a sense, a tragedy, since we know that ultimately, Lex’s dark side will win and the pair will end up mortal enemies.

Anyway, I’m sure all this has been said back when the show first started so, without further ado, here is the reason we are really here today- the show’s theme tune.

The song is called Save Me, performed by Remy Zero from their 2001 album The Golden Hum. Since I’m only up to season 3 in my viewing, I’ve gone for the opening titles that were used for seasons 2 and 3:

And here is the music video for the full version of the song:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Leave a comment

Filed under Current and recent TV shows, Tuesday Is Theme Tunes Day, TV Themes, Video Killed The Radio Star

Leave a Reply

