It’s Classic Clip Friday: WKRP In Cincinnati – Turkey Drop


More share options

A couple of weeks ago on Classic Clip Friday, we featured Jim’s driving test scene from 70s US sitcom Taxi.

This week’s classic clip comes from one of Taxi’s contemporary comedies, but one that is even less well-remembered and more under-appreciated by modern audiences – WKRP In Cincinnati.

Yet the show, about a struggling radio station, featured some great characters, including Howard Hesseman‘s Dr. Johnny Fever (he wasn’t a real doctor…) and Les Nessman (Richard Sanders), a somewhat less than worldly-wise news reporter, whose serious, professional demeanour belied the fact that he was utterly useless.

Les gave us the show’s single best, most-memorable scene. To set it up, you should know that the station manager, Arthur Carlson (Gordon Jump) had decided to organise a special Thanksgiving promotion to try and boost the radio station’s profile, but hadn’t told anyone what it was – just that he needed 20 live turkeys.

(Incidentally, check out this post for a few more classic TV show Thanksgiving clips.)

Les is sent to a shopping mall to cover the event:

“Oh the humanity!”

A brilliant performance by Sanders, parodying Herbert Morrison’s famous coverage of the Hindenburg disaster.

11 Comments

Filed under Classic TV, It's Classic Clip Friday!

11 responses to “It’s Classic Clip Friday: WKRP In Cincinnati – Turkey Drop

  1. Pingback: It’s Classic Clip Friday: Thanksgiving Special – WKRP « The Cathode Ray Choob

  2. Pingback: It’s Classic Clip Friday: Thanksgiving Special – WKRP; The West Wing; Cheers; Friends « The Cathode Ray Choob

  3. Pingback: And Then There Were Fifty Thousand! « The Cathode Ray Choob

  4. Dan

    This may very well be one of the top 5 funniest moments in TV history. I still get tears laughing at it.

  5. Pingback: AS GOD IS MY WITNESS, I THOUGHT TURKEYS COULD FLY « The Burning Platform

  6. A classic I’ll never forget– how could I?

  7. Your site is really cool to me and your topics are very relevant. I was browsing around and came across something you might find interesting. I was guilty of 3 of them with my sites. “99% of website managers are doing these five HUGE errors”. http://is.gd/gP5kZM You will be suprised how simple they are to fix.

  8. Next time I read a blog, Hopefully it doesn’t disappoint me just as much as this particular one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read through, however I truly thought you would have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of complaining about something that you can fix if you weren’t too busy searching for attention.

  9. Next time I read a blog, Hopefully it won’t disappoint me just as much as this particular one. I mean, Yes, it was my choice to read through, but I genuinely thought you would have something interesting to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of moaning about something that you could fix if you weren’t too busy looking for attention.

  10. fuck off poseur

    @classic tv shows-millions of blogs out there so move along.

  11. I purchase pleasure via, result in I stumbled upon just what exactly I had been having a look regarding. You might have concluded the 4 day time long quest! Our god Thanks a lot guy. Possess a excellent day. L8rs

Leave a comment